Housekeeping!

Yesterday’s post was the first one that I had written in roughly three months, and the first one in awhile that was distinctly religious/spiritual in its subject matter. I’ve been in a creative writing rut for awhile now, but I’ve begun to feel more inspired again in recent weeks. I finally am starting to feel myself permit that mental wandering and exploration of deeper questions once again, and I have some ideas for content that will be posted more regularly as opposed to random and sporadic entries.

For one, I intend to make the “Wordless Wednesday” posts a weekly addition. While the blog’s main focus is on spiritual issues, one’s spirituality is not confined to merely ruminating on issues of theology. I love making things and one of those things I love making is pictures. Art is inseparable from the world of religion and spirituality, so I don’t feel that this is anything remotely off topic. I also paint, so sharing those will not be off limits either.

Secondly, I’ve decided to introduce two different regular series to the blog that are specifically religious in subject. The first is a “Heretic of the Month” feature which will profile a person within the history of the Church who was at any time considered a “heretic”; whether blatantly labeled as such by the Church, or simply someone who presented theological ideas that were new and ambitious, revolutionary, or that threatened the established orthodoxy in some way. The second is a series I’m calling “Secular Saints” which will cover individuals outside of mainstream religion that I feel have added to our spiritual dialogue – whether it be through blatant challenging/questioning that pushes the religious community to think harder & better, their philanthropic work, and/or their artistic contributions.

So there you have it! A brief update on what to expect from this space going forward. I’m looking forward to it :).

+ Katie +

Thoughts?

